First-Time DUI in Virginia
Call (757) 517-2942 Today For A Free Consultation.
Getting arrested for a driving under the influence (DUI) can be a frightening
and overwhelming experience, especially if someone’s first time.
Not only may an individual serve time in jail, pay an expensive fine,
and have their licensed suspended, he or she will have a permanent mark
on their criminal record.
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Virginia, our
Virginia Beach DUI lawyer is capable of helping you either get your penalties reduced or your case
more than 18 years of experience under our belts, our legal team has a comprehensive understanding of the
state laws in order to develop a solid and personalized defense strategy
for you case. Let us protect your rights and reputation today.
First Time DUI Penalties
If you are 21 years of age or older and had a blood alcohol content (BAC)
of 0.08% upon your arrest, you can be charged with a DUI. A first time
DUI is considered a class one misdemeanor in Virginia, which is punishable
by a maximum jail sentence of 12 months with no minimum sentence.
However, if your BAC is at least .15, but less than .20, you may serve
a mandatory minimum of five days in jail. If your BAC is .20 or higher,
you may serve a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail.
You must also pay a fine of up to $2,500, with a mandatory fine of $250.
Your license is automatically suspended for up to 12 months, with an opportunity
to apply for a restricted license.
Let Our Virginia Beach DUI Attorney Fight for You
The Law Offices of Daniel J. Miller, our mission is to obtain the outcome desired by our clients. We have
an exceptional track record of success by developing aggressive and personalized
defense strategies for our clients. Get a hold of our
Virginia Beach criminal lawyer today!
Contact our firm and schedule your
free consultation today.