Underage DUI in Virginia
Let Our Virginia Beach DUI Attorney Fight for You
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a very serious offense, even for drivers
under the age of 21. Since motorists under legal drinking age are not
allowed to purchase or consume alcohol in the United States, DUI penalties
for them are much harsher.
If you are under the age of 21 and have been arrested for a DUI offense
in Virginia, our
Virginia Beach DUI attorney can help protect your rights, reputation, and freedom. We possesses the
extensive knowledge of state laws in order to successfully navigate through
the complexities of your case. Don’t let this mistake have a negative
impact on the rest of your life.
Penalties for Underage DUI
While a person over the age of 21 needs to have a BAC level of 0.08% or
higher in order to be charged with a DUI, an underage drinker needs to
have a BAC level of only 0.02% to be charged. An underage DUI in Virginia
is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is punishable by a jail
sentence of up to one year and a maximum fine of $2,500.
In addition to a DUI conviction, an underage drinker may also be charged
with the following:
- Minor in possession of alcohol
- Distributing alcohol to other minors (if there are underage passengers
in the vehicle)
- Possession of false ID
- Child endangerment
- Other traffic violations
15+ Years of Legal Experience
The Law Offices of Daniel J. Miller, we have successfully helped our clients get their charges reduced or
their cases dismissed. With
more than 15 years of experience, our
Virginia Beach criminal defense lawyer is prepared to fight for you!
Contact our firm and schedule a