Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Virginia
Get Experienced Legal Assistance from Our Virginia Beach Sex Crime Lawyer
In addition to prison or jail time, as well as fines, one of the penalties
of being convicted of a
sex crime is the registering as a sex offender. Even once you’ve finished
your sentence, law enforcement will continue to monitor your actions and
whereabouts closely. Not only do the police keep track of you, but any
person can determine where you live and that you were previously convicted
of a sex crime.
Registering as a sex offender can ban you from visiting specific places,
such as schools or even internet sites. It can be difficult to apply for
a job or an apartment when someone discovers about your past sex crime,
which is why it is tempting to avoid registering as a sex offender. However,
it can lead to more serious consequences.
The Law Offices of Daniel J. Miller, we understand the hardships associated with registering as a sex offender
and what it takes to petition for less frequent registration renewals
or even removal from the registry altogether. With more than 18 years'
experience, our Virginia Beach criminal defense lawyer has a thorough
understanding of Virginia laws to help you navigate through the complexities
of the legal system.
Penalties for Failing to Register
Failing to register as a sex offender in Virginia or proving false information
is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor for the first offense and the offender
committed a non-violent sex crime. A Class 1 misdemeanor is punishable
by a jail sentence of up to 12 months and a maximum fine of $2,500. A
second or subsequent conviction for failure to register is a Class 6 felony,
which is punishable by a prison sentence of up to five years and a maximum
fine of $2,500.
If you have been convicted of a violent sex crime or murder, failing to
register or providing false information is a Class 6 felony. A second
or subsequent offence is a Class 5 felony, which is punishable by a prison
sentence of up to 10 years and a maximum fine of $2,500.
Petitions for Removal of Registry or Less Frequent Registration
Some non-violent sex offenders can be eligible to have their names removed
from the sex offender registry after 15 years. They must complete all
court-ordered counseling, treatment, and payment of restitution, as well
as demonstrate that they no longer pose a risk to public safety to the court.
Unfortunately, this option is not available to those who have been convicted
of a violent sex crime or murder. However, Virginia allows violent sex
offenders after three years to petition to have the re-registration period
changed from every 90 days to once a year. If you are required to re-register
at a more frequent basis due to a prior conviction of failing to register
or providing false information to the registry, you can petition after
five years for a reduction in frequency.
Call (757) 517-2942 for Help Today
There are many complicated issues surrounding the petition to eliminate
or alter your requirement to re-register as a sex offender. Having our
experienced Virginia Beach sex crime attorney on your side can be crucial
in successfully submitting your petition. Do not hesitate to get the legal
assistance necessary to get your life back on track.
Contact our firm and request a
free consultation today.