Virginia Beach Statutory Rape Attorney
Fighting Against Prohibited Consensual Sex Charges
Strictly speaking, Virginia law does not specifically identify certain
crimes as statutory rape, but that is what they are for all intents and
purposes. When someone is accused of having sex with a teenager aged 15,16,
or 17, they are accused of violating a statute that forbids sexual activity
with minors. Another statute lays out even harsher penalties for sexual
activity with 13- or 14-year-olds.
These two crimes are what other states call “statutory rape”
laws. Essentially, the state does not recognize a teenager under 18 as
capable of consenting to sex with someone who is 18 years old or older.
As a result, even if you were in a relationship with a 17-year-old as
a 20-year-old, you could face statutory rape charges.
Harsh Penalties for Technical Crimes
Keep in mind that these statutes are not minor technicalities—if
you’re found guilty of having sex with an underage teen, you’re
facing harsh, life-altering penalties.
Under Virginia law, your charges come with the following penalties:
- For sex with a 15 to 17-year-old: 1 year in jail; $2,500 fine
- For “carnal knowledge of a 13 to 15-year-old: 2-10 years in prison;
In either case, you may also be required to register as a sex offender—limiting
your housing and employment opportunities for the rest of your life.
Whatever the situation may be, your future is on the line. What others
believed was “consensual” is not recognized in the eyes of
the law. Because people trusted in what they felt rather than what the
law said, they’re sitting in prison
without careers, housing, or their
Don’t make the same mistake—call an experienced Virginia Beach
sex crimes defense attorney now. The Law Offices of Daniel J. Miller has
over 18 years of experience defending men and women from groundless statutory
rape charges by getting their cases dismissed or acquitted.
Call (757) 517-2942 now or contact us with our
simple online form—a phone call is all we need to get started on your case.