Our Virginia Beach Criminal Defense Lawyers Are On Your Side!
When you are involved in a car accident, the adrenaline and confusion of
the situation can make you act in a way you wouldn’t under normal
circumstances. Everyone reacts to emergency situations differently, some
panic and feel the need to leave the issue behind in order to think clearly.
Unfortunately, when these types of reactions lead to a hit-and-run incident,
the repercussions can be extremely serious.
At The Law Offices of Daniel J Miller, our firm understands the problems
you are up against. We are dedicated to providing honest, knowledgeable
legal guidance for our clients and we can use our experience work towards
a favorable outcome for your case.
Call (757) 517-2942 to schedule a free consultation with our firm!
Defining a Hit-and-Run Accident
An accident is deemed a hit-and-run not by how the incident occurred, but
how the driver responds afterward. Typically hit-and-run accidents occur
between drivers, though they can involve pedestrians, bicyclists, or stationary
objects and vehicles. If a driver flees the scene of an accident without
providing any information about his or her identity or offering assistance
to any injured parties, he or she is considered a hit-and-run driver.
By law, every driver has a responsibility to exhibit certain care while
driving, especially if another person on the road is injured. If a driver
is in any way involved in an accident, whether he or she was at fault
or not, it is that driver’s responsibility to stop and lend assistance.
Failing to do so could result in serious legal consequences.
A hit-and-run driver may face a variety of legal consequences depending
on what type of accident occurred, if there were any injuries, and whether
or not there was significant property damage. If nobody was injured, the
crime will most likely be considered a misdemeanor and could carry a jail
sentence of up to 6 months and up to $1,000 in fines.
If one of the people involved in the hit-and-run accident was seriously
injured, the hit-and-run driver may face felony charges. A felony conviction
for a hit-and-run accident can result in up to 4 years in prison and up
to $10,000 in fines. The driver may also face serious penalties from the
department of motor vehicles, including driver’s license suspension or worse.
Vehicular Manslaughter for Hit-and-Run Accident
In the event that a hit-and-run accident results in a person’s death,
the hit-and-run driver could face charges of involuntary manslaughter.
If a driver flees the scene after an accident, even when the accident
was not their fault, the driver fails to exhibit the necessary care required
of the situation. When someone is killed, the witnesses to the death are
required to call the police, even if it was not their fault. So, a hit-and-run
driver could face involuntary
manslaughter charges, which may result in up to 20 years in prison and fines of up to $2,500.
If you are facing hit-and-run charges, our experienced firm may be able
to help. Our founding attorney, Dan Miller, has been recognized as
a Top 100 Trial Lawyer in Criminal Defense by The National Trial Lawyers and is active in many professional associations in the Virginia area. Our
firm has the experience and skills you need to fight for your rights and
protect your future.
Contact The Law Offices of Daniel J Miller
to get started today.