One of the most frequently asked questions by individuals who are charged with reckless driving is whether they should retain an attorney to represent them. Reckless driving is a class one misdemeanor.
If convicted, possible penalties include:
- 12 months in jail
- $2500 fine
- 12 months suspension of your driving privileges
Can I really go to jail for speeding in Virginia?
The short answer is yes. By statute an individual charged with speeding 20 miles over the speed limit or over the speed of 80 may wind up behind bars.
The likelihood of active incarceration is based upon:
- The city in which you were charged
- The specific judge you will be appearing in front of
- Your driving record
- The level of cooperation afforded the officer
- Whether there were any egregious factors such as heavy traffic, near accidents, or alcohol use
The most important key to avoiding jail time is to have a Virginia Beach criminal defense attorney who is familiar with the local Bench. Reckless driving may coincide with other criminal charges such as driving under the influence (DUI). Knowing how to present a case and what factors to avoid and what factors to highlight could be the difference between jail and reduction of the charges.
I, Daniel J. Miller, appear regularly in Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, Portsmouth, Norfolk, Newport News, Hampton, York County, Williamsburg and Northhampton County (Eastville).
If you or a loved one are currently not represented by competent counsel and have a matter in one of these jurisdictions please contact our office at 757-517-2942 for a free in office or over the phone consultation.