The Right Attorney Makes
All The Difference
Suffolk DUI Attorney
Helping Protect Your Rights
A DUI (driving under the influence) or a DWI (driving while intoxicated) allegation can be devastating. Many people falsely assume that this is a minor, forgettable crime.
In reality, DWI charges can carry an impact that lasts for years. They can affect various areas of your life, including your freedom, relationships, and even your career. Even if you are found not guilty, the accusation alone can damage your reputation.
If you are a Suffolk resident facing DUI charges, the team at The Law Offices of Daniel J. Miller is here to help. With years of experience in criminal defense, our lawyers have the knowledge to navigate the complexities of your case. We understand that criminal allegations are overwhelming, and we are committed to protecting your rights and advocating for your best interests.
By choosing us, you can trust that you have a dedicated team behind you, fighting for your freedom and working tirelessly to preserve your reputation.
Contact us online today to schedule a consultation and learn how we can help defend you against your DWI accusations.
Penalties for a First-Offense DWI in Virginia
The state has strict penalties for driving while intoxicated, and these laws apply to alcohol, illegal drugs, and even doctor-prescribed medicines.
Possible penalties for a first-time DWI in Virginia include:
- Up to 1 in jail
- Fines of up to $2,500
- License suspension for up to 1 year
- Mandatory attendance at alcohol education courses
Every criminal case is different. With our legal guidance, you may be able to reduce or even avoid the consequences.
Penalties for a Second-Offense DWI in Virginia
If convicted of a second DWI, a defendant faces:
- Fines as high as $2,500
- Up to 1 year of jail time
- Driver's license suspension for 3 years
Additionally, the offender must install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. This mechanism prevents you from driving if it detects any alcohol on your breath.
Penalties for Three or More DWI Offenses in Virginia
- Fines up to $1,000
- 1 to 5 years in state prison
- Indefinite driver’s license suspension
Aggravating Factors in a DUI Case
DWI sentencing depends on other factors as well, such as the alleged offender's blood alcohol level. Judges also consider whether anyone was injured or killed in the incident, and they will examine any property damage.
These circumstances will make penalties even harsher, and they could raise the offense to a felony level.
Refusing a Breathalyzer Test in Suffolk
Each legal driver in Virginia participates in “implied consent,” whether they know it or not. Essentially, implied consent means that by operating a motor vehicle on public roads, you agree to submit to DWI testing when pulled over by law enforcement. This legal mandate applies when the police reasonable suspect that you are driving under the influence.
If you refuse to test, you can suffer immediate consequences, such as a driver's license suspension. Authorities can impose more consequences depending on the circumstances. For example, if you have previous DUI convictions or caused an accident, refusal penalties can be far more severe.
If you find yourself in this situation, call our team to help you understand your rights and options.
Defense Strategies We Can Use to Help Fight Your DWI Allegations
Our lawyers are here to defend you against DUI charges, no matter the situation.
We may be able to challenge the accuracy of the breathalyzer or blood test results. These tests are not always reliable and often produce false positives.
Another approach we take is to question the legality of the traffic stop or arrest. Police officers must follow specific procedures when pulling someone over or making an arrest. If they fail to do so, all charges against you may be dismissed.
We may be able to prove that you were not intoxicated at the time of your arrest. Many medical ailments create symptoms similar to drunkenness, or perhaps you simply have an eccentric personality that the police mistook for inebriation.
Our team will tailor its DWI defense strategies to you and your situation. We never take a “one-size-fits-all” approach with our clients.
To consult with our DUI lawyers in Suffolk, call our office at (757) 267-4949 and set up a time to meet with the team.
Your rights are time sensitive. It's imperative to seek representation as soon as possible before it's too late.
You guys did Great work I am completely satisfied Thank youB. Yanev Virginia Beach
Mr. Miller is one of the best there is professional and everyway and very knowledgeable trust in his process I’m very grateful to have had him as my attorney. Thank you again, Mr. Miller for everything.K. Smith Virginia Beach
What Do I Do After an Arrest?Remember that just because you have been arrested, it does not mean that you are automatically guilty. Once you have been brought to the police station, the bond will be set. This means that you do not have to sit in jail while the process is underway; you are free to go home to wait for your arraignment. The purpose of bail is to ensure that you return to court for the arraignment. If you are unable to post bail, then you will be required to remain in custody until the arraignment. The amount will be determined by the courts and may depend on the type of charges filed.
Do I Need a Defense Attorney?Yes. If you have been arrested and are facing criminal charges, then it is in your best interests to hire a defense lawyer to represent you. Self-representation has a low success rate due to the complexity of Virginia criminal law. At The Law Offices of Daniel J. Miller, we are familiar with the local criminal courts, judges, and prosecutors. We have a strong success record and can help you build a strong defense strategy, no matter what charges you are facing. You should never go through this alone.
When Should I Hire a Criminal Defense Lawyer?You should hire a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible after your arrest. It is highly advisable that you do not speak to anyone after you've been arrested until you have the representation of a criminal lawyer. This is to ensure that you don't incriminate yourself by saying something that will damage your defense.
How Much Does a Criminal Defense Attorney Cost?The cost of a criminal defense lawyer depends on a number of factors, including their consultation fee (if any), their retainer, their hourly fees, and the length of your criminal case. If you want to know the cost of a specific criminal lawyer, the best step to take is set up an initial consultation. Call (757) 267-4949 to schedule a criminal defense consultation with Attorney Dan Miller and find out how he could help protect your rights and freedom!
We’ll Fight For You
At The Law Offices of Daniel J. Miller, we represent victims of personal injuries, including cases involving car accidents, motorcycle accidents, dog bites, and brain injuries. Based in Virginia Beach, we serve clients in many areas of the community, and the surrounding cities. We work diligently to recover the maximum compensation for the victims we represent. Since 2001, our team of experienced lawyers has recovered millions of dollars in compensation for personal injury victims like you.
It is our belief that people deserve legal representation that acknowledges what they are going through and what they need. From being able to put our clients in touch with excellent doctors to being as supportive, honest, and responsive as we can be, we are here to support our clients from start to finish.
Personalized Attention for Each Client
A Proven Track Record of Results
Experienced & Knowledgeable Legal Advice
Invested in Your Case & Your Success