Call Today 757.517.2942
Underage DUI Charges Are Much Harsher We Can Protect Your Rights, Reputation and Freedom

Virginia Beach Underage DUI Lawyer

Can a Minor Be Charged with a DUI?

Driving under the influence (DUI) is a very serious offense, even for drivers under the age of 21. Since motorists under legal drinking age are not allowed to purchase or consume alcohol in the United States, DUI penalties for them are much harsher for underage drinkers who drive.

If you are under the age of 21 and have been arrested for a DUI offense in Virginia, our attorney can help protect your rights, reputation, and freedom. We possesses the extensive knowledge of state laws in order to successfully navigate through the complexities of your case. Don’t let this mistake have a negative impact on the rest of your life.

Call (757) 517-2942 or contact us online to speak with a Virginia Beach underage DUI attorney!

Penalties for Underage DUI in Virginia

While a person over the age of 21 needs to have a BAC level of 0.08% or higher in order to be charged with a DUI, an underage drinker needs to have a BAC level of only 0.02% to be charged.

So what happens if you get a DUI under the age of 21? Underage DUI in Virginia is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year and a maximum fine of $2,500.

In addition to a DUI conviction, an underage drinker may also be charged with the following:

  • Minor in possession of alcohol
  • Distributing alcohol to other minors (if there are underage passengers in the vehicle)
  • Possession of false ID
  • Child endangerment
  • Other traffic violations

20+ Years of Combined Legal Experience

At The Law Offices of Daniel J. Miller, we have successfully helped our clients get their charges reduced or their cases dismissed. With more than 20 years of experience, our lawyer is prepared to fight for you!

Contact our firm today to schedule a free consultation with a Virginia Beach underage DUI lawyer.